Elena Papandreou, guitar
Release: 6 January 2023
Total Time: 73’09’’
Works by Manos Hadjidakis
and a new piece by Leo Brouwer

[...] Elena Papandreou's poetic playing makes you think you are hearing the words, even though there is no vocal part.
[...] The recording captures every nuance of Papandreou's playing: as sweet, one might say, as the smell of jasmine.

Ivan Moody, Gramophone magazine (May 2023)

e-classical download (studio quality):

Ever since my youth I have had immense admiration for the great Greek composer Manos Hadjidakis. I heard so many of his songs, I sang them with friends and found them very moving. Hadjidakis is a legend in my country, known for his wise and well formulated comments about various issues, his subtle sense of humour and of course his important contribution to Greek music. I had the good fortune to meet him several times between 1984 and his death in 1994, and these meetings always left me with a sublime feeling of immense gratitude, trying to breathe in his life-enhancing aura. I even played for him once when I first met him, during a masterclass with my teacher Evangelos Boudounis, and his precious words changed the way I think about the music I play.
Elena Papandreou, (from the album booklet)

Manos Hadjidakis (1925-1994)

01. Paper Moon 4'44
02. The Urchins down in the Meadow. 6'32
03. Hymettus. 4'14
04. The Postman is Dead. 4'45
05. Noble Dame. 4'26
06. In this Boat 4'07
07. A Stroll to the Moon. 6'22
08. The Coachman. 9'39
09. I Have a Secret. 3'54
10. Little Rallou. 7'09
11. Wide Open Sea. 6'04
12. Sweet Smell of Jasmine. 4'53

Arrangements for guitar, made for Elena Papandreou by Roland Dyens (The Postman is Dead and Wide Open Sea) and Orestis Kalampalikis and recorded here for the first time.

Leo Brouwer (b. 1939)

13. Preludio de la Nostalgia. 6'15
Dedicated to Elena Papandreou. World Première Recording

Album total 73'09